Franny Rabkin

Editorial committee

Frank Snyckers SC (chair)
Nathi Dwayi
Marilena Maddison
Sandhya Mahabeer SC
Loyiso Makapela
Jean Meiring
Lwandile Sisilana
Muhammad Zakaria Suleman
Myron Dewrance SC
(ex officio – GCB chair)


Cape: Gregory Solik
Free State: Inga Macakati
Grahamstown: Thomas Miller
Johannesburg: Quentin du Plessis
KwaZulu-Natal: Lisa Olsen and Nooreen Nursoo
Namibia: Esi Schimming-Chase
Northern Cape: Albert Eillert
North West: John Stander
Polokwane: Nathi Gaisa
Gqeberha: James Ramsay
Pretoria: Megan Moodley
Bhisho: Bayethe Maswazi


Advocate is the journal of the General Council of the Bar (GCB). Except in the case of official press releases or statements, published
as such, the views expressed by individual contributors of articles and items in Advocate do not purport to be the views of the editorial committee of Advocate, or the official views of the GCB, but remain the views of the individual contributors. This applies also to the views expressed by the editor in her contributions.

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions
and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 786878,
Sandton 2146
082 927 5536

Street address: Grindrod Tower,
2nd Floor, 8A Protea Place,
Sandton 2146

Annual subscriptions R450 (VAT incl.)
Advocate, PO Box 786878,
Tel: +27 (011) 784 0175
E-mail: christine.baek@gcbsa.co.za

Website: https://www.gcbsa.co.za

Proofread by Refiloe Seiboko
Design by Hond CC
Cover Photo by Ekaterina Bolovtsova
Printed by Hansa Print

ISSN 1683-2566
© General Council of the Bar
of South Africa