Table of Contents: Vol 18 • No 3 • December 2005


HF Mellet

Editorial committee

WHG van der Linde SC (chair)
N Arendse SC,
A Cockrell,
S Cowen,
S Mahabeer,
M Sello,
IJ Smuts SC,
FA Snyckers

Bar representatives

Bisho: Vacant.
Cape: A Kruger.
Free State: GJM Wright.
Grahamstown: I Smuts SC
Johannesburg: C Watt-Pringle SC
KwaZulu-Natal: W Bowler.
Northern Cape: J Schreuder.
North West: J Stander.
Port Elizabeth: P Kroon.
Pretoria: HS Havenga.
Umtata: MH Shisuba

Editorial information

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 2260
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: (011) 336 3976/2486 or
the editor directly at 082 961 7696 (mornings);
fax: (011) 336 8970;
e-mail: or
Street address:
5th Floor, Schreiner Chambers,
94 Pritchard Street,
Johannesburg 2000


Annual subscription R120 (VAT incl)
All correspondence must be addressed to:
Advocate, PO Box 2260,
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: +27 (011) 336 3976/337 4498
Fax: +27 (011) 336 8970

Published by the General Council of the Bar of South Africa
Typesetting by Mckore Graphics
Printed by Paarl Print
ISSN 1683-2566
©General Council of the Bar of SA

Chair’s contribution

GCB News

Bar news

Names in the news


Letters to the editor

From the publishers