Table of Contents: Vol 20 • No 3 • December 2007


Hennie Mellet
Tel 082 961 7696

Editorial committee

Jannie Eksteen SC (chair)
Frank Snyckers (deputy chair)
Azhar Bham SC,
Alfred Cockrell,
Susannah Cowen,
Jannie Eksteen SC,
Sandhya Mahabeer,
Mahlape Sello,
lzak Smuts SC

Bar representatives

Bhisho: Vacant
Cape: Anton Kruger
Free State: Zachia Eloff, Henriette Murray
Grahamstown: Izak Smuts SC
Johannesburg: David Leibowitz
KwaZulu-Natal: Wendalynn Bowler, Paul Wallis, Zuleka Rasool.
Namibia: Andrew Corbett
Northern Cape: Japie Schreuder
North West: John Stander
Port Elizabeth: Peter Kroon
Pretoria: Henk Havenga
Umtata: Mathobela Shisuba

Editorial information

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 2260
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: (011) 336 3976/2486 or
the editor directly at
082 961 7696 (mornings)
Fax: (011) 336 8970
Street address: 5th Floor, Schreiner Chambers,
94 Pritchard Street,
Johannesburg 2000


Annual subscription R120 (VAT incl)
Advocate, PO Box 2260,
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: +27 (011) 336 3976/337 4498
Fax: +27 (011)336 8970

Published by the General Council of the Bar of South Africa

Design and layout by K2
(021) 461 0002
Printed by Hansa Print
ISSN 1683-2566
©General Council of the Bar of SA

Chair’s contribution

We remember

GCB News

Bar news


From the publishers

Legal Crossword