Table of Contents: Vol 21 • No 3 • December 2008


Hennie Mellet
Tel 082 961 7696

Editorial committee

Jannie Eksteen SC (chair)
Frank Snyckers (deputy chair)
Azhar Bham SC,
Richard Brooks
Alfred Cockrell
Susannah Cowen
Sandhya Mahabeer
Mahlape Sello

Bar representatives

Bhisho: vacant
Cape: Anton Kruger
Free State: Zachia Eloff, Henriette Murray.
Grahamstown: Richard Brooks
Johannesburg: David Leibowitz
KwaZulu-Natal: Wendalynn Bowler
Paul Wallis, Zuleka Rasool
Namibia: Andrew Corbett
Northern Cape: Japie Schreuder
North West: John Stander
Port Elizabeth: Peter Kroon
Pretoria: Henk Havenga
Umtata: Mathobela Shisuba

Editorial information

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 2260
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: (011) 336 3976/2486 or
the editor directly at
082 961 7696 (mornings)
Fax: (011) 336 8970
Street address: 5th Floor, Schreiner Chambers,
94 Pritchard Street,
Johannesburg 2000


Annual subscription R150 (VAT incl)
Advocate, PO Box 2260,
Johannesburg 2000
Tel: +27 (011) 336 3976/337 4498
Fax: +27 (011)336 8970
Published by the General Council of the Bar of South Africa
Design and layout by K2
(021) 461 0002
Printed by Hansa Print
ISSN 1683-2566
©General Council of the Bar of SA

GCB Chair’s contribution


We remember…


GCB News

Bar news


From the publishers

Legal crossword