Table of Contents: Vol 33 • No 1 • April 2020


Franny Rabkin

Editorial committee

Frank Snyckers SC (chair)
Mushahida Adhikari
Mark Euijen SC
Marilena Maddison
Sandhya Mahabeer SC
Jean Meiring
Lwandile Sisilana
Craig Watt-Pringle SC
(ex officio – GCB chair)


Cape: Dirk Coetsee
Free State: Jacyn Mitchley
Grahamstown: Thomas Miller
Johannesburg: Kutlwano Motla KwaZulu-Natal: Carol Sibiya, Sarah Pudifin-Jones and Nooreen Nursoo
Namibia: Esi Chase
Northern Cape: Albert Eillert
North West: John Stander
Polokwane: Nathi Gaisa
Port Elizabeth: Morné Olivier
Pretoria: John Holland-Müter
Mthatha: Vusi Msiwa


Advocate is the journal of the General Council of the Bar (GCB). Except in the case of official press releases or statements, published
as such, the views expressed by individual contributors of articles and items in Advocate do not purport to be the views of the editorial committee of Advocate, or the official views of the GCB, but remain the views of the individual contributors. This applies also to the views expressed by the editor in her contributions.
Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions
and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 786878,
Sandton 2146
082 927 5536
Street address: Grindrod Tower,
2nd Floor, 8A Protea Place,
Sandton 2146
Annual subscriptions R360 (VAT incl.)
Advocate, PO Box 786878,
Tel: +27 (011) 784 0175
Design by Hond CC
Printed by Hansa Print
ISSN 1683-2566
© General Council of the Bar
of South Africa