Table of Contents: Vol 26 • No 3 • December 2013


Hennie Mellet
Tel 082 961 7696

Editorial committee

Patric Mtshaulana SC (chair)
Frank Snyckers SC (deputy chair)
Azhar Bham SC
Richard Brooks
Alfred Cockrell SC
Marilena Ioannou
Sandhya Mahabeer
Jean Meiring
Mahlape Sello
Lwandile Sisilana
IAM Semenya SC (ex officio – GCB chair)

Bar representatives

Bhisho: Vacant
Cape: Luke Kelly
Free State: Henriette Murray.
Grahamstown: Richard Brooks
Johannesburg: Kameshni Pillay
KwaZulu-Natal: Laurence Broster SC, Sarah Linscott, Kerusha Pillay
Namibia: D Obbes SC
Northern Cape: Lizanne van Niekerk
North West: John Stander
Port Elizabeth: Steve Rorke SC, Anusha Rawjee
Pretoria: Thys Snyman
Umtata: Vusi Msiwa

Editorial information

Correspondence and enquiries relating to contents, contributions and advertising:
The Editor, Advocate,
PO Box 786879, Sandton 2146
Tel: (011) 784 0175/0179/ or
the editor directly at
082 961 7696/ (mornings)
Fax: (011) 784 0182
Street address: Sandown Village,
2nd Floor, West Court,
86 Maude Street,


Annual subscription R330 (VAT incl)
Advocate, PO Box 786879,
Sandton 2146
Tel: +27 (011) 784 0175/0179
Fax: +27 (011) 784 0182
Published by the General Council of the Bar of South Africa
Design by HOND BK
Printed bv Hansa Print
ISSN 1683-2566
© General Council of the Bar of SA

Chair’s contribution

GCB Statement of Intent

Talking Heads

UCT honours Pius Langa – and other upcoming conferences

GCB Reports

Bar news




Slices of Bar life

From the Publishers

Legal Crossword